This is the "Media Hub Homepage" page of the "Moving Image / HyperMedia Hub from City University of New York's BMCC ... Welcome!" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Moving Image / HyperMedia Hub from City University of New York's BMCC ... Welcome!   Tags: clip, database, digital, documentary, download, education, embed, film, guide, internet, learning aid, learning tool, mash up, movie, moving image, online, open access open educational access, remix, share, short film, teaching tool, tutorial, web 2.  

Browse, research, & investigate the many annotated Moving Image & Media websites featured to find appropriate clips/films to support your teaching & learning! Visit often for updates...The more you use this site, the better it will get!
Last Updated: Apr 3, 2014 URL: http://bmcc.libguides.com/media Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Media Hub Homepage Print Page
  Search: 
 

TABLE of CONTENTS for this Media Hub

Go directly to Individual Pages or Modules within this Hub...

When you hover over an entry below, it will give you a description of that module. If it interests you, click on it and you will go directly to that section! 

Have fun exploring...

BMCC Tutorials on Library & Research!

 

DVDs Owned by BMCC

DVDs Owned by  BMCC

To use or view these titles, either fill out this online form or consult with staff in room S410S (inside the library).

 

Books about Film on BMCC Shelves

Here are just a few of the quality titles the BMCC Library has on the moving image industry. Should you want to look for more titles than these, research the CUNY Catalog.

 

BMCC's New Faculty Chamber Ensemble

BMCC's Faculty Chamber Ensemble,

The Fiterman Trio

 BMCC's newly-formed faculty chamber ensemble offered a double treat at its first formal recital at the Tribeca Performing Arts Center on October 16, with works from both the chamber and operatic repertoires.

Fiterman Trio

Howard S. Meltzer -Piano

Maureen Keenan -Flute

  - Cello

Singers

Christine Free - Mezzo-Soprano

Eugenia Oi Yan Yau - Soprano

John Uehlein -  Baritone

 

"Moving Image" Defined

What is a "Moving Image"?

A combined definition of "moving image" from the Museum of the Moving Image in Astoria, Queens (NYC) and The Association of Moving Image Archivists is any "stage of producing, promoting, and exhibiting motion pictures, television, and digital media" (including video and computer games) and recognizes them "as important educational, historical, and cultural resources."  

Moving images have been used as a tool for teaching and learning ever since these media were created. Presented here is a centralized hub of Web 2.0 open access digital moving image websites to aid in your teaching and learning endevours.

If you have any suggestions or comments please email them to me,Prof. Dorothea J. Coiffe, dcoiffe@bmcc.cuny.edu 

Read: "Using YouTube: Practical Applications for 21st Century Education"  Online Cl@ssroom article by Jeffery Gentry, August 2008

 

President Obama Introduces Initiative Between Businesses & Community Colleges for 2013 Budget

President Obama introduces an initiative of a partnership between businesses & community colleges for his 2013 budget.

 On, February 13, 2012, "[W]hat I want to focus on today -- what we need to do in terms of higher education, and community colleges in particular.  Employers today are looking for the most skilled, educated workers.  I don’t want them to find them in India or China.  I want businesses to find those workers right here, in the United States.  The skills and training that employers are looking for begins with the men and women who educate our children. ..."

 

BMCC Owned Media -DVDs & VHS

To find media owned by BMCC Library - Use the advanced search of the Library Catalog to locate films owned by the BMCC Library- enter DVD or VHS in one of the search boxes.

  • Click on the title to see more info on a film listed in the BMCC Library's online catalog. 
  • To request a media title owned by BMCC for either viewing inside the library (students) or in the classroom (professors), fill out the online media request form at least 2 weeks in advance (or go in person to room S408 -inside the library) M-F, 8am-4pm.

BMCC Faculty, did you know:

  • That you could have either a clip or an entire movie uploaded to the BMCC library's E-Reserves (E-Res)? (Videos on E-Res must be owned either by BMCC or yourself - NOT one from another library or rented)

 

BMCC Film Databases

Take a Look at BMCC's Collection of

Streaming Film Databases!

Every member of the BMCC community may access these excellent moving image sources for research & pleasure. 

(To use Off Campus Sign-in, like any other database.)

Films on Demand
Films in Demand has thousands of documentaries, dramas, & newsreels from the world’s most recognized producers and distributors.  After you've signed into your account (best to do this while on-campus), you may view, share, and/or embed clips or entire films. You will be surprised what you'll find here!

  and more!

Helpful links on using this database:

___________________________________________

American History in Video

American History in Video provides a large & rich collection of video available online of American history. This collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. American History on Video currently provides 5,864 titles, equaling approximately 1,529 hours, with more to be added in the future.

This is an Alexander Street database. Click to learn how to make & share playlist(s).

_________________________________________________

Theatre in Video  (Sign in to create, edit, and share playlists or clips)

Theatre in Video is a collection of more than 250 of the world’s most important plays, together with more than 100 video documentaries, online in streaming video. These definitive performances, by leading actors and directors, have been painstakingly licensed from a wide range of copyright holders. For the first time, students, instructors, and researchers can bookmark specific scenes, monologues, and staging examples and then include those online links in their papers and course reserves.

This database allows you to make clips of selected videos. You may then share, embed them for your research or your classes! An Alexander Street database: Learn how to do this to here

_________________________________________________

Black Short Fiction and Folklore 

Black Short Fiction and Folklore covers over 11,000 works of short fiction produced by authors from Africa, and the African Diaspora, from the earliest times to the present.

An Alexander Street database – Learn how to sign in to create, and share playlists or edit clips

_________________________________________________

Education in Video 

Education in Video covers streaming videos of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. 

An Alexander Street database: Learn how to sign in to Create, and Share playlists or edit clips

_________________________________________________

Ethnographic Video Online: Volume I and II

Ethnographic Video Online: Volume I and II covers a wide range of streaming video, written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering cultures and human behavior around the world.

An Alexander Street database: Learn how to sign in to create, and share playlists or edit clips

_________________________________________________

World History in Video

World History in Video  is an online collection of streaming videos covering world history that provides access to critically-acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide.

An Alexander Street database: Learn how to sign in to create, and share playlists or edit clips

_________________________________________________

 

SafeShare.TV & QuietTube =The Safer Ways to Watch & Share YouTube videos

SafeShare.TV & QuietTube

The Safer Ways to Watch & Share YouTube Videos!

SafeShare.TV

SafeShare.tv is a service that makes it possible to view YouTube videos without displaying the related videos and associated comments. This could be a particularly useful tool for anyone publicly showing a YouTube clip. To use SafeShare.tv simply copy the url of a YouTube video and paste it into SafeShare.tv.

QuietTube

Quietube is a browser extension that removes all the clutter from YouTubeViddler, & Vimeo, allowing you to view only your selected video. Quietube removes all advertising, sidebar content, comments, and ratings. Installing Quietube requires nothing more than dragging the Quietube button to your toolbard. Then anytime that you're on YouTube click the Quietube button to remove all of the clutter and just watch your selected video.

This 'Moving Image Media Hub' LibGuide is Funded by a 2011 PSC-CUNY Grant

The BMCC Moving Image Media Hub LibGuide started with PSC-CUNY Grant funds.

      

    BMCC Media Librarian

    Profile Image
    -- Dorothea J. Coiffe -- Assistant Professor/Media Librarian
    Contact Info
    Borough of Manhattan Community College/CUNY
    199 Chambers St
    Library/S410b
    NY NY 10007
    Send Email
     

    I'm a Member of ...

    Displaying of badges is the new digital way people let you know what they are a member of or what they have done or earned - so keep a lookout for them. (Kind of like the Girl or Boy Scouts merit badges.)

    This is my 1st one: 


    Visit Library 2.0

     

    Higher Education Opportunity Act (HEOA)

    The Higher Education Opportunity Act (HEOA) Requires All Colleges & Universities ...

    to offer legal alternatives to unauthorized downloading. 

    Starting the week of Dec. 6, 2010, the Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA) sent a letter to all U.S. college and university presidents calling their attention to the anti-infringement provisions of the Higher Education Opportunity Act of 2008 (HEOA). All campus CIOs were copied.

    Some of the sites listed provide some or all content at no charge; they are funded by advertising or represent artists who want their material distributed for free, or for other reasons. Just because content is free doesn't mean it's illegal. On the other hand, you may find websites offering to sell content which are not on the list below.

    Just because content is not free doesn't mean it's legal.

     

    BMCC's Spring 2012 Theater

    Life's a Dream [Play by Pedro Calderon de la Barca,1600- ~1681]

    In April 2012, talented BMCC students gave a performance of Life's a Dream.  

    "Life's A Dream is a poignant tale of a prince imprisoned at birth by his astrologer-king father and liberated on the same day a beautiful woman stumbles into his life.  "Vida es Sueno" was published in 1636/1637 before Calderon was 40.  Plays in 17th century Spain were written primarily for immediate production, this play was probably presented on the Madrid stage before it was published. (This is also true of Shakespeare's plays.)

    Life's a Dream 

    Cast & crew for BMCC's April 2012 production

    DIRECTED by

    Diane Dowling

    CREATIVE TEAM

    Elizabeth Chaney

    Mia Bienovich

    Christopher Peifer

    Mitchell Ost

    Donghyuk Chang

    Anthony Croughelli


    CHOREOGRAPHY by  Rolando Jorif

    ACTORS

    Antionette Stallings

    Daniel Szymanowicz

    Evaristo Hernandez

    Diana Florencio

    Amanda Calderon

    Iliana Paris

    Amelia Perez

    Katy Wright

    Juriel Gomez

    Alex Guzman

    Djordje Janicijevic

    Victor Clotter

    Wendy Torres

    Juadon Sabb

    Kevin Kash

    David Dakota Sanchez

    Rasheem S. Luchie

    Edwin Burgos

    Corey Kempster

    Mario Brown

    Jarrid Jones

    David Millwood

    Robeyda Gomez

    Edie Britton

    Chris Riva

    Marie Riche

    Kezia Brown

    Tamadra Williams

    Jocelyn Magana

    Kimberly Flores

    Suquaia Grant

    Ashanti Easterling

    STUDENT CREATIVE TEAM

    Amanda Beckett

    Britney Martinez

    Nelson Patino

    Ryan Viramontes

    Juadon Sabb

    Kevin Kash

    Jarrid Jones

     

    CREWS

    Fabian Arocho

    Amanda Beckett

    Danni Brown

    Edwin Burgos

    Amanda Calderon

    Wedde-Lynn Doe

    Marvin Duarte

    Tamara Francis

    Alexandro Guzman

    Alexandria Haynes

    Djordje Janicijevic

    Han Young (Dimo) Kang

    Hyun Jun (Nora) Kim

    Tristan Kobryn

    Rasheem Luchie

    Stephen Macari

    Carmelo Martinez Vazquez

    Patrick J Reilly

    Melissa Rosado

    Edward Smith

    Mason Williams

    Jessica Thompson

    COSTUMES

    Amanda Calderon

    Chris Clark

    Jade Cortez

    Alex Guzman

    David Millwood

    Tia Mohammed

    Lliana Paris

    Erica Sims

    Phoebe Tang

    Chantae Walker

    SPECIAL THANKS

    TDF Costume Collection

    Presdient Antonio Perez

    Sr. Vice Presdient Sadie Bragg

    Ena Jordan

    Carol Cleveland

    Barry Rosen

    Tom Volpe

    Susana Powell

    Katherine Kavanaugh

    Will & Sarah MacGee

     

    Tell Us Where You're From!

    * Please leave in comments (in this box) what college/state/country you are from. Thank you!






    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip